5.9 Marriage Blog

Don’t Pinprick!

When I look at my marriage, because that is what I have to bring and compare to this class, I think Elder Christiansen’s quote is perfect. I look at the times that my marriage is smooth and it is when we aren’t pinpricking each other. But the times when it can be bumpy or we have a disagreement, it tends to start from some sort of pinpricking. I would definitely say this is something to watch for in the future in my relationship with my spouse. When we look at the positive in someone, we are going to be happier than when we look at the negative.

I really like the idea of the love maps and I have never really heard of it before. I think it is vital to use in a successful relationship and it is something I plan on talking ot my husband about and using it to make my marriage even better than it already is.
Nurturing Relationships

This week I decided to work on overlooking the faults of my husband. I love him dearly and think the world of him, but sometimes I feel that he needs to pay more attention to the details. He often overlooks them and it bothers me.

This week as I tried to overlook his faults, I felt that I didn’t complain as much about the things that he was or wasn’t doing. I truly felt that as I tried to be “ok” with the things he was doing that I was happier and it made our relationship better. We didn’t argue as much as we might normal do and we laughed more than usual, so we were laughing all the time.

I think of my husband’s example and how he works really hard to forgive me for my faults and how happy he always is, but I have always struggled with it. After I realized that doing this has helped me have a better attitude, I can definitely see the positives of not pinpricking every little thing that he does, even if it bothers me a lot. I want to make it a goal to always look at the positive and not focus on the negative.

I also tried this with my father. My husband and I moved in with my dad back in August and there have been times that we have struggled to get along with my dad because he does some things that bug us. We have tried out best to ignore it, but haven’t done a good job. This week we made a concerted effort to not let his actions bother us and I can already see the benefits and how the spirit is stronger in our house than it is when we don’t get along with my dad.

I am going to do everything I can to not pinprick when people do things that bother me. Not only will it benefit my relationship with that person, but it will also benefit my attitude and make me a happier person.

Leave a Reply

