4.7 Marriage Blog

The reading this week was very interesting to me. I think one of the things that stuck out to me the most was when Gottman eluded to marriages needing conflict. I look at my relationship with my husband and think about the conflicts that we have had in our relationship. Even though the disagreements are annoying, I can definitely see how those conflicts have made us stronger and have helped our friendship grow.
My husband and I started out as friends and our relationship grew from there. Once we were friends we were comfortable together. Then we started dating. We dated for one and a half years and really got to know each other. I feel that because we took the time to really understand and know about each other we gained a stronger friendship than a lot of couples that didn’t date or court as long as we did.
I don’t want people to think that it isn’t possible to have a strong relationship when you dated a short time, but in my own experience it was a huge blessing to have been great friends for almost 2 years before we got married. It has helped our marriage really grow and be strengthened.
Leave a Reply

