Completed Identity Project

For me college has really been about finding myself. Once I finally settled on Visual Communications as my major I felt like the journey towards further establishing my style and identity had finally begun. For the past few weeks I have been working on an Identity project for my Advanced Visual Media class. The goal of this project was to gain a greater understanding of ourselves and then translate that understanding into a visual object. At the conclusion of this project I now have 3 refined logo options to choose from that all represent my own personal style. My hope is that this cohesive branding will help me to attract future clients and employers that I’m interested in working with.

I began this project, as I find myself beginning most projects, on Pinterest searching and pinning inspiration. This got my creative juices flowing so I followed that up by sketching out some of my ideas.

JohnnaMcGarrah-LogoSketches

This part of the project may have been the most difficult for me. First, I realized that I’m really not very good at sketching and as a perfectionist this frustrated me. I also realized that I have a pretty good idea about what I like and dislike as well as how I want to visually portray my style. Since this is the case I felt totally stuck after only sketching about 15 different logo ideas. I am a very visual person so it was difficult for me to envision how these logos were really going to look without actually starting to design them in Adobe Illustrator.

The next step of my process, however, proved to be the most helpful. I began to try out different designs in Illustrator. This is when my creativity and inspiration really started to kick in. Below you can see a few examples of the process I went through for each of the 3 final logos I chose to represent my brand.

This first one is more of a personal logo idea since I didn’t include anything about photography or design with the typography. I also included the year I was born to personalize it a bit more. I like the simplicity of the neutral colors because I feel like it could go on anything. As a photographer I will be using my logo on photographs so adding a lot of color to my logo isn’t a good idea.

JohnnaMcGarrah-ArrowLogoSketch

SKETCH

FIRST ATTEMPT

FINAL DESIGN

After this logo I decided to pick a color scheme that I could use as I develop my professional website and also on things like a letterhead or resume. The colors I picked are all kind of flat and earthy. My style has a really vintage or antique feel to it and I think these colors illustrate that.

ColorSchemeF

I made a lot of edits and changes to this next logo from the time I started the design until I finally decided on the design I liked the best. I am a very detail oriented person so I really like all of the little elements included in the feather. In fact, my tagline is ‘Live in the details’ and I think this logo absolutely embodies that mantra. My final choice logo design choice from this batch is the one I decided to incorporate all 3 colors in. Here are a few examples of the process I went through for this one.

JohnnaMcGarrah-FeatherLogoSketch

SKETCH

COLOR OPTIONS

MORE COLORS

The final logo I chose to represent me is one that I actually designed a couple of semesters ago so that I would have something to put onto my photographs. I have been pretty happy with this logo and feel that it represents me well, but I still decided to take a closer look to see if I could refine it a bit more. I ended up changing the font in the middle and I actually think I like it a lot more now. This is the logo I will continue to use for my photography, but I want to possibly incorporate the feather logo on some of my other designs, business cards, and website where colors would be appropriate.

ORIGINAL

REFINED

REFINED

After all of the tweaking and re-tweaking I finally decided on 3 refined logo designs that I am proud to present and that I feel best represent me and my style as a designer. They are placed on the page below starting with my favorite logo on top.

FinalThreeB

Leave a Reply

