Movie Poster

Taking a good self-portrait is a lot more difficult than I initially thought. I have been researching and pinning movie poster ideas for several weeks now, but when it came down to the actual execution of each photo I began to get frustrated. As a perfectionist I am always very picky about every detail of the photography that I present. If it’s not perfect, or pretty dang close, then I don’t want to show it to others. This personality trait coupled with the fact that I would be showcasing my face on the final product was basically a lethal combination. Luckily, after a lot of hard work and editing I was able to create the movie poster you see below.

I am currently in the midst of my 4th consecutive semester of school and my very last semester before graduation. It has been a long journey and although I am so thankful for all of the amazing things I’ve learned I’m getting burned out and ready for a break. This Scream movie is based on my exhausting journey through my last semester of school.

I took the photograph of myself by setting up my camera on a tripod and focusing on a chair placed directly where I would position my face for the photo and then turning my camera on manual focus so that the focus would be locked on that spot. I initially tried using a speedlight positioned to the side of my face, but I wasn’t getting the saturation of light on my face that I wanted so I decided to switch to my on camera flash and that worked a lot better. The initial photo was good, but my editing process is really what made the difference. I spent hours cleaning up and brightening my face to mimic the original poster and give it a cleaner look. However, I still liked some of the detail that the flash highlighted on my face because I feel like it adds to the drama of the photo a bit so I tried not to smooth everything out too much. I also selected the eyes on the original poster and copied the selection which I then placed over my own eyes. I lowered the opacity on them to match the lighting in my photograph and to again make them a bit more realistic. In the end I had a lot of fun putting this all together!

JohnnaMcGarrah-ScreamMoviePosterB

Original Poster:

ce4f5bf5a3737e696eb6b3993080f2c2

Classmate Critiques: Daniel Flores & Ryan Joos

Original Unedited Photo (taken by Johnna McGarrah)

JohnnaMcGarrah-UneditedScreamImage

Leave a Reply

