Identity Project Inspiration

IDENTITY PROJECT:

The purpose of this project is to create a personal brand mark/identity. As I go out into the design world I will be using my website and portfolio pieces to market myself and attract potential clients and employers. It is important that everything is cohesive so that I send a clear message of who I am as a designer. For this project I will be creating 3 logos that reflect my style and personality.

FAVORITE PINNED LOGO:

 art,blind,logo,pig-34327536e91666b1e469f824c106df3b_h

http://vi.sualize.us/logo_for_a_gastro_pub_an_all_pork_menu_my_own_typeface_logo_pig_blind_picture_uzMv.html

Logo courtesy of: VisualizeUs

I chose this logo as my favorite for several reasons. First of all I just really love the creativity and the way the text is blended with the image. The two contrasting fonts used compliment each other nicely. I love that the word ‘the’ mimics a pig’s curly tail. I really like texture and the texture and color of the background add an awesome rustic feel to this logo.

ADDITIONAL PINNED LOGOS:

Each logo I pinned has a unique creative element to it that I admire. One thing that I have noticed about myself is that I am very detail oriented. I really appreciate all of the clever details included in these logos that make you take a closer look. While many of them quite literally illustrated the company or brand names associated with the design others were a mix of eclectic design that just seemed to work even without a clear reason why they were being used. I noticed that for some reason I tended to gravitate towards logos with animals in them. I think I like the idea of a sort of mascot going along with the brand.

Check out my Pinterest Logo Inspiration Board by following the link below!

https://www.pinterest.com/clelly143/identity/

SOCIAL MEDIA SURVEY:

I simply made a post to my Facebook page asking my friends and family to give me feedback to the question, “When you think of Johnna what words/thoughts come to mind?” See the below screenshots for some of the kind and hilarious results.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 8.17.42 PMScreen Shot 2015-04-22 at 8.20.45 PMScreen Shot 2015-04-22 at 8.21.12 PM

WHAT I LEARNED:

One thing I learned is how blessed I am to have so many good friends. I made my Facebook post on Tuesday because I knew this blog post was due by Saturday and I was worried that I wouldn’t get 10 comments in time. However, within the first few hours I already had 24 responses! I also learned that I have a good sense of humor and that I often show my love by teasing others and in turn they do the same. It is clear from all of the responses that I have a pretty big personality and others perceive me as being generally happy. I found it interesting that many of the comments pointed out tiny details about who I am or what I like. I think that again speaks to my love of details in all aspects of my life.

TARGET AUDIENCE:

I am expecting my logo to be seen by potential photography and design clients as well as possible employers. The types of employers I wish to attract are producing eclectic photography and designs for clients. They may work out of a private studio or be involved in a fashion company with an Urban Outfitters feel.

TIMELINE:

April 25 (Sat) – Sketch 30 logos

April 27 (Mon) – Get feedback & refine sketches

April 28 (Tues) – Vectorize top 3 logos

April 29 (Thurs) – Choose color scheme

April 30 (Fri) – Refine logos

May 1 (Sat) – Video Presentation

One thought on “Identity Project Inspiration

Leave a Reply

