Framed Fine Art

Final Image

Original Image

JohnnaMcGarrah-JewleryBoxOriginal

Come see my photograph displayed in the Spori art gallery on the BYU-Idaho campus!

Process:

I briefly explained my process in the above YouTube entry so if you haven’t watched it yet I’d suggest that you check it out! This entire framed fine art process was a real learning experience for me. Although I have definitely printed pictures before (throwin back to my childhood complete with rolls of Fujifilm in grey and black canisters) I have never actually thought about resizing my print to fit the dimensions I choose to print the photo in. Now that I think back I have noticed before that many of my photographs come out much different than they looked on the computer or even the camera screen. They end up being cropped slightly or darker than I originally expected. I will never print an important photograph again without paying attention to the size and brightness before I send it off.

My process for this framed fine art print began with choosing which photograph I wanted to display. At first I wasn’t sure if I had anything worthy of being displayed, but as I looked through my past photographs I began choosing ones that I really felt reflected my style. It became so difficult to choose just one for a couple of reasons. First, I felt that each of my top picks reflected a part of me in some way and second I was afraid to completely back one of my photographs as my best piece and a representation of me as an artist. Finally, with the help of many of my friends and classmates, I chose to display this picture of one of my vintage jewelry boxes. I like this photograph because it’s of one of my own personal items so it has even more of a story behind it. I am also obsessed with details and texture and this photograph has some beautiful texture that almost seems to pop out of the image.

I took this jewelry box with me when my COMM 300 class went to Bannack Ghost Town in Montana. This vintage treasure fit in perfectly in the rustic ghost town. I used the manual focus on my camera to achieve the nice shallow depth of field you see in my macro photograph above. I took the lid off of my jewelry box and propped the bottom half up against a wooden wall near a window in one of the old houses and then rested the lid on the bottom lip of the box. I wanted the window light to illuminate the the details etched on the lid, but I also wanted the light to help create a nice contrast between the foreground and background of my image. I chose to open and position the jewelry box like I described above to add depth and interest to the photo as well as a warmth and shine that the brassy/copperish inside of the box was able to achieve.

I was initially pretty satisfied with the way my original unedited photograph turned out and I only made very minor edits like lightening the overall image and  a bit of sharpening. However, when I printed it for the first time it was way too dark and it was clear that it lacked the beauty and vibrance that I saw on my computer screen. So before I sent off my final print I lightened it even more using the light tones slider in Lightroom and then I finished it up in Photoshop by brushing in extra sharpness on the areas in focus and boosting the vibrance to really highlight the colors. I also resized my image to a 16×24 at 150 ppi and added additional canvas to make the final image a 20×30 since that was the only size offered at Walmart that would encompass my entire 16×24 print.

My final step was to buy some non-reflective glass that I placed in the frame I bought to showcase my photograph. The frame went perfectly with my image because not only did the rustic reclaimed barn wood frame align perfectly with the style of my vintage jewelry box, but the blueish grey color of the frame complimented the base color of the jewelry box lid.

Leave a Reply

