Bannack Ghost Town: HDR

1-shot HDR

JohnnaMcGarrah-1shotStoveHDRr

3-shot HDR

HDRTree&House2rHDRHouse2rHDRCabin2r

IMG_9234 IMG_9067 IMG_9068 IMG_9069 IMG_9010 IMG_9011 IMG_9012 IMG_9007 IMG_9008 IMG_9009

Process:

This was my first time creating HDR shots and I can definitely say that I am now obsessed with this technique! I will be purchasing Photomatix so that I can use it for future photographs and eliminate the watermark. I have seen a few HDR images before and I was always hesitant about this technique because I felt like it often made photographs look unrealistic. However, after using this program I realized that I can customize it to my style and produce a beautiful final product. In class our TA commented that our eyes see in HDR. I never really thought of that before, but it makes me enjoy these photos that much more. I have often looked at a beautiful scene that I wanted to capture in a photograph, but when I shot the photo the result was disappointing because I couldn’t get my camera to capture what I was actually seeing. HDR allows me to capture those images the way my eye sees them. All of the little cabins and houses in Bannack were beautiful and were surrounded by a multidimensional landscape that inspired me to shoot them in HDR. Now that I have a better understanding of how this technique works I am excited to apply it within an array of different situations. I also love that HDR effects can be applied to single shot photographs as well.

One thought on “Bannack Ghost Town: HDR

  1. I love all your HDR images! I think I like that they don’t have that HDR feel to it but just excellent exposure and color in each image. I also love the texture you were able to bring out using HDR!

Leave a Reply

