Photo: Yellow Study

JohnnaMcGarrah-LemonsJohnnaMcGarrah-SchoolBusJohnnaMcGarrah-KTScarfJohnnaMcGarrah-Balloons

  1. When Life Gives You Lemons: 09/22/2014- 12:24pm- Rexburg, ID- 40.0mm- f 5.6- 1/80- Canon EOS Rebel T3
  2. Back to School: 09/22/2014- 5:59pm- Rexburg, ID- 36.0mm- f 25- 1/32- Canon EOS Rebel T3
  3. KT: 09/22/2014- 6:18pm- Rexburg, ID- 42.0mm- f 5.0- 1/64- Canon EOS Rebel T3
  4. 7 Yellow Balloons: 09/23/2014- 4:15pm- Rexburg, ID- 55.0mm- f 5.6- 1/1328- Canon EOS Rebel T3

Process:

Yellow is my favorite color! I particularly love the earthy yellow tones. Mustard yellow was one of my wedding colors and the center stone in my engagement ring is a yellow diamond, so I guess you can say that I’m kind of obsessed. Yellow is a happy, vibrant color that reminds me of the sunshine. I tried to take a variety of photographs to represent the color yellow. For my first photograph I used an f 5.6 aperture that produced a shallow depth of field that allowed me to bring the lemon into sharp focus and blur the edges around it. I love natural light and the beauty that it brings to my photographs. In the lemon picture I opened our sliding glass door to let some natural light into our kitchen. I didn’t do any edits to this photograph. For my second photograph I went to the bus yard in Rexburg on a rainy day which produced a very soft light. I used an f 25 aperture on this photo to try and get a large depth of field. My third photograph is of my friend, and gracious model, Katie Bailey. I took this photograph on the same day as the previous bus photo so the light was soft and perfect for portraits. I used an f 5.0 aperture for this photo in order to produce a shallow depth of field, which blurred the background and brought Katie into sharp focus. I boosted the color in Photoshop and used the dodge tool to brighten her eyes slightly. I took my final photo of the balloons in Smith Park this afternoon when the sun was shining because I wanted to let the sun shine through the balloons. I lightened this photo in Photoshop slightly to bring out the color in the front balloons a bit more.

3 thoughts on “Photo: Yellow Study

  1. I LOVE your color study. Great color to choose. I like the cohesiveness of the color in the various shots but how you captured very different things. Great pictures! I really liked the lemonade one. The composition with the lighting and angle made me thirsty for lemonade sitting in the Crossroads. Loved it!!

  2. I love the colors you could find! I also think it was excellent how you shot each photo as far as the lighting and angles go. I also love the sun flare in the balloon photo! It really helps capture the transparency of the balloons as well.

  3. I absolutely loved the angle of the shots that you took! I also think it’s funny that almost half the class chose yellow for their study. The lemonade one is probably my favorite. The consistency of it was just beautiful! Good work!!

Leave a Reply

