Past Photos

RedApplesResize

AliLadyBugResize

AppleOrchardResize

PerfumeResize

PalmTreeResize

BoraBoraResize

RosieBirthdayResize

MandyWeddingWindowResize

FamilyWeddingResize

Mandy&DarrenResize

  1. The Sky is Falling: 10/13/2013- 2:17pm- Rexburg, ID- f 2.8- 1/80- Canon PowerShot ELPH 100 HS- I boosted the saturation a bit in this photo to bring out the beautiful red in the apples.
  2. Little Lady: 10/12/2013- 2:24pm- Rexburg, ID- f 2.8- 1/640- Canon PowerShot ELPH 100 HS- I didn’t have to make any additional edits to this photo because it was a cloudy day and the lighting was great.
  3. Day at the Orchard: 10/15/2013- 2:27pm- Rexburg, ID- f 2.8- 1/160- Canon PowerShot ELPH 100 HS- I boosted the saturation slightly and added a bit more warmth to the picture.
  4. Sweet Scents: 12/1/2013- 11:36am- Rexburg, ID- f 4.0- 1/12- Canon EOS Rebel T3- I decreased the contrast in this picture to give it a bit of an antique look and also added some warmth.
  5. Come Away With Me: 12/23/2o13- 10:05am- Bora Bora, French Polynesia- f 3.5- 1/20- Canon EOS Rebel T3- The lighting and everything came out perfect in this picture so I didn’t have to edit a thing.
  6. Paradise: 12/26/2013- 7:24am- Bora Bora,  French Polynesia- f 22- 1/1000- Canon EOS Rebel T3
  7. Rosie Posey: 04/17/2014- 3:46pm- McKinney, TX- f 4.5- 1/50- Canon EOS Rebel T3- The lighting was kind of bad in this photo initially because of a harsh overhead light that was on above the table. To balance the light out I cooled down the picture and lowered the contrast a bit.
  8. From This Day Forward: 08/09/2014- 4:53pm- McKinney, TX- f 3.5- 1/32- Canon EOS Rebel T3- I didn’t edit this photograph at all.
  9. Family: 08/09/2014- 5:34pm- McKinney, TX- f 4.0- 1/40- Canon EOS Rebel T3- I brought the contrast down and the saturation up a bit in this photo.
  10. You and Me: 08/09/2014- 5:50pm- McKinney, TX- f 4.0- 1/50- Canon EOS Rebel T3- This photo came out great without edits.

I love taking photographs and capturing moments so I often find myself pulling out my camera every chance I get. I tried to compile a group of some of my favorite photographs for this assignment. The first three were taken in the apple orchard on the BYU-I campus last fall right around my birthday. One of my favorite things to do while I’m shooting is to try to find a different perspective. In the first shot I found myself looking down at a huge pile of apples that had fallen from the trees in the orchard and I decided to capture that photo from my perspective. I find the details in life to be the most fascinating so when I saw a ladybug land on my friend’s hand I knew I had to capture that shot. For the third photograph I actually ended up laying on the ground to get a low angle with a large depth of field and was able to capture a row of apple trees. When I have some free time at home I often go around and take pictures of things around the house to spark my creativity and hopefully help me to learn something new. The fourth picture is a result of a cold winter day inside. I took the next two photographs last Christmas when my family and I were vacationing in Bora Bora. Everything was gorgeous there so it was fairly easy to get beautiful shots. When it comes to photography my method is to shoot tons and tons of photographs and then pick a few that I love from that selection. The more I shoot the more likely I am to get a few great ones. The seventh picture are the huts we stayed in over the ocean in Bora Bora. I tried to use the principle of repetition to help the flow of the photograph. The eighth photograph is of my niece Rose on her third birthday. I love to capture candid shots as opposed to the more posed ones. This moment captures great emotion to me. The last three photographs are of my step-sister Mandy’s wedding. I had the privilege of being the photographer at her wedding this summer and I learned a lot. I learned that photo shoots are a lot of fun, but weddings are extremely hectic and hard to control. In the first wedding photo of Mandy I wanted to play with the lighting and get a bit of a silhouette in the photograph so I had her stand next to the window to take advantage of the natural light coming in from outside. I’m not sure if I have a specific style or specialty with my photography yet, but I love trying a little bit of everything!

Leave a Reply

