Welcome

Hey everyone, WELCOME to my blog! As you can probably tell I have quite a conglomeration of information on here. I have been working on developing this website ever since I began the Communications program at BYU-Idaho a little over a year and a half ago. I am totally obsessed and have loved every second of it! There are definitely sections that need updating or at least a little more TLC, but feel free to browse around and see what I have to offer.

1510480_10100450662467534_1212737332_n

READ ON to learn a bit more about me 🙂

My name is Johnna McGarrah. My family moved around quite a bit growing up so explaining where I’m from is always tricky, but I claim Texas. I was born in Houston, Texas, but moved to Schaumburg, Illinois when I was only 18 months old. I spent the next 8 years growing up there in a cute little suburban neighborhood just over 30 minutes outside of Chicago. My family then moved back to the Dallas area in Texas and then back to Schaumburg followed by a few years in College Station, Texas (home of the Texas A&M Aggies… WHOOP!). We then moved again to a town near Boulder, Colorado where I graduated from high school. My parents are empty nesters now and reside permanently (or so they tell me) in McKinney, Texas. I have one little sister named Jillian who graduated from BYU-Provo not too long ago and currently lives in Houston, Texas with her husband Nate.

390796_805175870874_1297204610_n

I had the amazing privilege of serving a mission on Temple Square in SLC from September 2009 to March 2011. My mission completely changed my life and continues to be a source of strength and guidance to me daily. I have been home a little over 3 ½ years now, but I still miss it every single day.

29905_615723764414_7354669_n248409_720842156314_5672245_n

I met my cute husband a few months after I returned from my mission while working as an EFY counselor in San Antonio, Texas. Although we became friends almost instantly I tried to make it clear that he was in the friend zone and would probably always remain there. Four months later I realized that I kind of liked having him around so we began dating exclusively. As they say, the rest is history! We have now been married for almost a year and a half and are happier than ever. We are currently living in Rexburg until we both graduate next year after which we hope to move back down south.

263244_535563157119_2012035_n-11272926_10152075569043072_583309525_o

As far as my life at BYU-I goes I am currently a junior majoring in Communications with an emphasis in Visual Comm and I absolutely LOVE it! I changed my major a few semesters ago and feel like I’m finally exactly where I need to be.

I don’t really know what I want to do for a career yet, but I do know that I really love to design on the computer. My favorite program is Adobe Illustrator. I basically like doing anything artistic or that allows me to be creative. Photography is a passion of mine and I had the opportunity to shoot my first wedding over the 7-week break this summer for my step sister Mandy. I also love home décor and am obsessed with decorating and coming up with new artistic projects.

993078_10100512441776304_372441627_n

I work in the registration unit within the Student Records and Registration Office on campus and am cherishing the professional experience it provides.

EXPERIENCE:

My father inspired my interest in photography from any early age. Ever since I can remember I’ve been taking pictures. When I was younger I had a film camera that I would take with me practically everywhere and fill up the rolls so that I could take it to the store and get my pictures developed. I always had countless boxes of photographs stacked in my closet. I eventually graduated to a digital camera and about a year ago I finally bought a Canon Rebel T3 DSLR. I have taken a basic photography class and a visual media class that have helped spark my creativity and provided me with a solid starting point. I love to spend time experimenting with photographs and often shoot hundreds of pictures to stretch my creativity and discover new perspectives. I have several of the Adobe programs on my computer including Photoshop. I have a basic knowledge of Photoshop and often use it to edit my photographs. However, I definitely spend a lot of time watching YouTube tutorials in order to learn more. I also use iPhoto occasionally to do some quick and simple edits. I am currently taking a Multimedia Video Journalism class as well as an Adobe Premier class in order to develop better video shooting and editing skills. I love everything about visual media!

WHAT I HOPE TO LEARN:

Creatively I often know exactly how I want the final product to look, but at this point I still lack some of the technical skills to produce the vision I have in my mind. I want to be able to stop relying so much on the automatic settings on my camera by gaining a better knowledge of how my camera works. I also want to learn how to more effectively balance my photography and editing skills in order to translate what I see into a completed physical image. As I complete this course I hope to gain a greater confidence in my abilities as a photographer.

One thought on “Welcome

  1. Hey Johnna! It is good to be in your class again. I am excited to learn so much from Sister Esplin and all that she has to teach us. It is going to be a good semester for sure! I would also take my mom’s film camera and use it to take pictures around my neighborhood of cars. Haha. This will be an exciting semester. I am very excited to learn and grow from Sister Esplin and all the knowledge that she has. You and your husband are very cute 🙂 Great picture of you two!

Leave a Reply

