Project 9: Portfolio

Portfolio (scribd.com):

Project Corrections/Time spent:

I spent around 3 hours tweaking little details in most of my projects. I lightened the scanned image on my event ad and moved the logo down to line up with the corner of the image. I moved the text away from the edge of my montage project as suggested and lightened the opacity a bit more. I changed the body text on my business cards to American Typewriter, a slab serif, which was a better contrasting font to The Skinny, san serif, font that I used for the titles. I changed the opacity to 100% on the hexagons and lines on my brochure because it made the text hard to read and didn’t have the desired effect when I printed it off. I also made the stroke smaller on my folding lines so that it won’t take away from the design. I added a the process paragraph for my stationery and business card blog post because I had missed it previously and wanted to make sure I included it. I did a few other minor alignment tweaks to several of my projects as well.

Top 3 things learned in this course:

1) I learned to apply the principles of design to my projects. I now know why I like some designs as opposed to others. I have always liked to make things visually appealing, but now I know how to do it properly by following the rules I learned. 

2) I also learned the importance of white space. It allows the viewer to have some space to breathe and not get overwhelmed. Less is more. 

3) Finally I learned how to create professional designs while still letting my personality and style shine through. 

Future application of Visual Media:

I am so excited to apply all of the principles I learned in this class to my life! I love to design things in my personal life for my home and events and now I have the skills to do that. I am also in the process of opening my own business so I will be able to apply the things I have learned to everything I will need to design to get that off of the ground. I actually plan on using some of the things I designed in this class for my business such as the logos and even the brochure. I posted my portfolio to facebook just today and got an offer to design something for a former co-worker of my father’s. The possibilities are endless!

Programs/Tools Used: Adobe InDesign 

Font #1 Name & Category: The Skinny- San Serif

Font #2 Name & Category: American Typewriter- Slab Serif 

Thumbnails of Images used:

2b5d3c0120c1217613e2c90e7931a850

25bcc146ca178853b6e2fe160ec63053

images

Sources (Links to images on original websites):

http://www.polyvore.com/jennifer_sullins/collection?id=2768476

http://www.thebooksalon.com.au/

http://urbancomfort.typepad.com/urban_nest/2010/06/

2 thoughts on “Project 9: Portfolio

  1. Very nice! You managed to create a perfect blend of fun and professional very nicely with this entire layout. In so many ways it feels inviting but collected, encouraging a employer to read it but to not be thrown off by a sense of flightiness. My only recommendation might be to employ some better colors for the main page, such as a warm sand color maybe. Still, absolutely solid.

Leave a comment