Project 5: Logos

Image

Description:

These are three logos I created in Adobe Illustrator for my personal business that I’m in the process of organizing and opening up on etsy.com.

Process:

I had so much fun creating these logos! First I drew out several ideas for my logos on paper to get an idea of what I wanted. Then I went into Adobe Illustrator and began the first logo by choosing the ellipse tool and making the basic oval shape. I then selected a mint green color for the background fill. I used the ellipse tool again to create all of the smaller circles/ovals on the outside of the main shape. I copied and pasted the original smaller circle so that they would all be the same size and shape. I then selected the text tool and typed my logo initials in the inside of the shape. I used the line segment tool to make the arrow that goes through the logo initials. For my second logo I used the arc tool and the line segment tool to make the basic outline of the banner. I then used the paintbrush to fill in the color and trace over the original lines to give it a hand drawn feel. I used typography principles and the text tool to write out the name of the company underneath the banner. For my final logo I used the text tool to type out the name of the company and then the selection tool to select the text and rotate it so that it is vertical. I used the arc tool to create most of the birdcage and the ellipse tool to create the handle of the cage. Once I was finished with each image I grouped all of the elements together so I could move them around the page if needed.

Top 3 things learned:

1) I learned the importance of grouping an image together so that when you move one piece of the image it won’t mess up the other elements.

2) I learned how to effectively use the arc tool to create curved lines in an image.

3) I learned how much I love illustrator and how to make images more personalized.

Programs/Tools Used: Adobe Illustrator

Top Logo – Font #1 Name & Category: A song for Jennifer (decorative)

Top Logo – Font #2 Name & Category: NA (only one font used)

Middle Logo – Font #1 Name & Category: The Skinny (sans serif)

Middle Logo – Font #2 Name & Category: Voluptate (script)

Bottom Logo – Font #1 Name & Category: Voluptate (script)

Bottom Logo – Font #2 Name & Category: NA (only one font used)

How the logo represents the company:

This company is a personal company I am in the process of starting up. I will be selling home décor and accessories. These items will be handmade, for the most part, so I wanted to make the logos look like they were hand drawn. The style of these items is shabby chic so I made the logos to follow this style. The first logo represents a vintage/shabby chic piece of jewelry and the bottom two are shabby chic home décor items.

Votes on favorite logo:

Top Logo = 4 ; Middle Logo = 6 ; Bottom Logo = 2 ;

My favorite logo was = It’s hard for me to pick just one because I like all of them for different reasons. If I has to choose I would choose the middle one because it also explains what the company offers.

 

Leave a Reply

