Project 2: Event Ad

P2JohnnaMcClellan-page-001Description: This is a full bleed ad for a fundraiser for the Susan G. Komen Foundation. The flier is made using Microsoft Word, iPhoto, and a scanner.

Process: I went through several magazines to find the proper picture for the event that I was trying to make. I was then able to scan the picture and adjust it using iPhoto to change the exposure because I felt it was too washed out the way it was before I edited it. I learned a lot about using Word and learned that it had several features that could be beneficial if I was not able to use Adobe products and just had access to Word to make a flier.

Top 3 things learned:

1) I learned that designing in Microsoft Word can be really frustrating compared to using the more advanced InDesign program.

2) I learned that in Microsoft Word you are able to do several features that you can do in Adobe, so if I ever needed to throw a flier together with limited program access then I could use Word.

3) I learned that a lot of times when you think you have the best idea for a draft that sometimes your mind will open up and you will have several different ideas that are better than your original.

Program(s) / Tools used:

  1. Scanner
  2. iPhoto
  3. Microsoft Word

Font #1 Name & Category: Hang Board 123, Decorative

Font #2 Name & Category: Arial, Sans Serif

Scanned images used,  sources, original sizes: This image was from the Annual 2013 Secondhand Treasures magazine. The original size was 4” x 6”. I scanned the picture on high resolution so that I could adjust the size of the picture and not lose quality. Now the final size is 1690 x 1130 pixels.

2 thoughts on “Project 2: Event Ad

  1. I love the font that you used for this. It goes well with the vintage/antique theme. The only thing I would change would be to make the scanned image a bit brighter. Otherwise, really good job! I love vintage shopping so this is definitely an event I would want to go to! 🙂

  2. I love the picture you used. I would advise you to be careful with your theme, your balloons tend to hover over your images and distract from your design content. I think there is an option in your settings to keep the scrolling effects to a minimal- I’m not familiar with this theme so I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

